Uganda Independence Day

Uganda gained her independence on October 9th 1962. Since 1894 she was a British protectorate that was put together from some very organized kingdoms and chieftaincies that inhabited the lake regions of central Africa.
By 1959, Uganda had 16 districts and at the time of independence in 1962 one more district was created. In 1945 Uganda divided into four provinces of Buganda, Eastern, Northern and Western. The provinces were sub-divided into districts In 1962: Uganda became independent on October 9.


Court petitions challenging the legality of the ‘Age Limit’ law were moved from Kampala to Mbale in what the Deputy Chief Justice Alfonse Chigamoy Owiny-Dollo termed as “marathon” hearings.

The petitions against the Constitution Amendment Act were filed in the Constitutional Court in Kampala and were expected to be heard there.

During the heated Parliamentary sessions leading to the enactment of the now contested Constitution Amendment Act, several private citizens and a section of the Opposition lawmakers filed several petitions against Parliament.

Business Revolution

Hundreds of traders and their associative leaders converged at Wash & Wills Hotel in Mbale for a breakfast consultative meeting organized by Uganda National Chamber of Commerce and Industry (UNCCI). The business community in attendance was both groups and individual traders. The groups included associations of; Small scale manufacturer , produce dealers, rice exporters, truck drivers, timber & conservation, market vendors, cooperative unions, hotel & tour operators, stone quarry & sand miners, various SACCOs, and private school operators.