Location & Size

Mbale District is a district in Eastern Uganda. It is named after the largest city in the district, Mbale, which also serves as the main administrative and commercial center in the sub-region.



Mbale District is bordered by Sironko District to the north, BududaDistrict to the northeast, Manafwa District to the southeast, Tororo District to the south, Butaleja District to the southwest and Budaka District to the west. PallisaDistrict and Kumi District lie to the northwest of Mbale District. Mbale, the largest town in the district and the location of the district headquarters, is located approximately 245 kilometers (152 mi), by road, northeast of Kampala, the capital of Uganda, and the largest city in that country.[1] The coordinates of the district are: 00 57N, 34 20E. It has an area of 518.8 square kilometers (200.3 sq. mi). The districts of BududaManafwa, Namisindwa and Sironko were part of Mbale District before they were split off as independent districts of their own.

The District Headquarters is in Mbale Municipality industrial Division, Maluku(1km from Mbale Town).

Mbale serves as an administrative and commercial center.other urban centers include Nakaloke Town council, Nauyo-Bugema Town council Nabumali Town council , Busiu Town council and thew recently created Jewa Town council.

Map of Mbale District



Mbale is one of the districts in the Eastern region of Uganda. The District headquarters is situated at Malukhu ward in Industrial Division. The district is bordered by Bukedea district in the

Northwest, Sironko in the North, Budaka and Pallisa in the west, Tororo and Butaleja districts in the south-west, Manafwa District in the east. It lies between latitudes 00057’ North and longitudes 34020’ East and has a total area of 518.4sq km of which 353.56 sqkm arable land.