Political and Administrative Structure

Mbale District comprises of the following Local Governments and Administrative units.

Constituencies Sub Counties Town Councils Parishes/Wards Village/Zones
Bungokho North 4 (Subcounties) 1 30 176
Bungokho Central 5 (Subcounties) 1 27 202
Bungokho South 5 (Subcounties) 1 33 235
Totals 14 3 90 613

The Policy Making Organ
Mbale District Council is the supreme Policy Formulation organ of the District. It is headed by the LCV Chairman who is supported by an Executive committee of 4 members. The council also has 4 standing sectoral Committees. They deliberate policy matters and make recommendations to the full Council of 35 Councilors (15 female and 20 male).
The Sectoral Committees include:
• Finance and Administration headed by the Secretary for Finance
• Gender and Social Services headed by the Secretary for Gender and Social Services who doubles as the District Vice chairperson
• Education and Health Services headed by the Secretary for Education and Health
• Works, Production and Natural Resources headed by the Secretary Works, Production and Natural Resources.

Statutory Bodies There are also statutory bodies, which are mandated by law to carry out specific roles and responsibilities to ensure effective and efficient service delivery. These include:
• District Contracts Committee
• District Public Accounts Committee
• District Service Commission
• District Land Board
A Contracts Committee comprising of appointed Technical Officers as established by the Local Governments Amendment Act 2006.
Office of the Resident District Commissioner
It represents the President in the District and ensures that both national and local priorities are given due consideration and are implemented in an accountable manner.
Lower Local Governments
Mbale District is host to 3 Town councils and 14 Subcounties. The district has a total of 90 Parishes/Wards and 613 villages/Cells which have councils and executive committees, which coordinate the various functions.